Market Wrap: Bitcoin Slips to $52K; All Eyes on Friday’s $6B Options Expiry – Yahoo Finance

Facebook
Google+
Twitter
LinkedIn
  • Bitcoin (BTC) trading around $52,184.38 as of 20:00 UTC (4 p.m. ET). Slipping 4.77% over the previous 24 hours.

  • Bitcoin’s 24-hour range: $50,458.10-$54,762.75 (CoinDesk 20)

  • BTC trades between its 10-hour and 50-hour averages on the hourly chart, a sideways signal for market technicians.

Bitcoin traders urged caution as prices for the cryptocurrency slid toward $50,000 for the first time in two weeks while the options market braced for volatility ahead of a record $6 billion contract expiration Friday.   

“This is a time to make sure that you have some dry powder and are not overextended,” Chad Steinglass, head of trading at CrossTower, said in an emailed comment. “It seems as though buyers are stepping back, and instead of buying the dip are simply waiting on the sidelines to see what happens.”

Read More: Bitcoin Traders Brace for Record $6B in Options to Expire Friday

Related: Shark Tank’s O’Leary Says a Made in China Label on Bitcoin Keeps Some Funds Away

The largest cryptocurrency was unchanged to slightly lower Thursday, at around $52,100 as of 19:19 UTC (3:19 p.m. ET). Earlier, prices slid as low as $50,360. Bitcoin hasn’t traded below $50,000 since March 8, well off its all-time high above $61,000.

U.S. stocks were barely
Source…

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.
Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin